Where Excellence is Standard
Ponte Vedra Beach

| |

PV Ambulatory Center

| |

Amelia Island

| |

Nocatee

| |

Baymeadows East

| |

Reviews for Breast Reconstruction* Procedures Near Jacksonville, FL

With outstanding results, a highly-trained team of medical professionals and individualized care, it’s not surprising that patients of Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery can’t wait to spread the word about us. Since we specialize in actualizing our patients’ cosmetic and reconstructive surgery goals, we provide world-class care. From our attention to detail to our advanced knowledge, we have patients constantly providing us with excellent feedback. Reading through our patient reviews is one of the best ways to gauge our practice to see if Ponte Vedra is right for you. When you are looking for some of the best plastic surgeons in Northeast Florida, we recommend that you read through our patient feedback. 

Click here to leave a review!

Filter17 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from G.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 23, 2018

Dr. Hickman is an incredible doctor. After being diagnosed with breast surgery I decided on a double mastectomy. She performed the surgery a couple of weeks ago and has been taking care of me since. She has got to be the most caring doctor I’ve ever met! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 13, 2017

I met Dr. Hollie Hickman when I needed someone for my reconstruction after breast cancer surgery.I am so thankful I had her. She was so caring and made me feel at ease about all I was going through! I highly recommend her. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-10-11
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 02, 2016

Thankful!!! - I'm so thankful that Hollie Hickman was my surgeon when I needed reconstruction after my double Mastectomy. She is very professional, compassionate and an amazing doctor for what I needed! I would recommend her a thousand times over!! - - I'm so thankful that Hollie Hickman was my surgeon when I needed reconstruction after my double Mastectomy. She is very professional, compassionate and an amazing doctor for what I needed! I would recommend her a thousand times over!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-5301017
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 19, 2015

I first contacted Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery in 2013 when I was seriously considering a total breast reconstruction post lumpectemy 2004. I had two different sized breasts and had experienced an extreme weight gain and weight loss since that time due to quitting smoking. That, and not being a "spring chicken" any longer, and my breasts looked pretty un-pretty. I visited with Dr. Brett Snyder in St. Augustine, at a satellite facility used only for meeting new patients. My consultation was 5-star. I knew immediately I had found a top shelf surgeon who has impeccable bedside manners and world class training, with the ability to do the surgery needed to 1) make my breasts equal in size by reducing the unaffected side with the side that had been biopsied and irradiated, 2) perform the surgery in such a way as to minimalize scarring, and 3) provide further reduction to both breasts to eliminate any other anomalies with regard to shape and lift. Who could ask for more! I had just moved from Los Angeles and it was not possible to use my California insurance, so unfortunately I was not able to utilize their services. I went on with my plan and had another local surgeon do the surgery. Although I have a great deal of scarring from the surgeon that I eventually chose, I am very happy to be of equal size and to be "reconstructed" after many "lopsided" years. Almost immediately after the surgery I developed a great deal of scar tissue on the irradiated breast, and for nearly two years have been uncomfortable with this mass when I wear tight workout gear, so I began thinking about Dr. Snyder again. I went to see him again, this time at his main offices in Ponte Vedra, and was quite impressed with a beautiful, inviting center...spacious with a calming, well-appointed color scheme and furnishings. I have no doubt that my care is being handled by the best plastic surgeon and best plastic physician center in northern Florida. As I say this, please consider that I am a holistic practitioner, a 25-year veteran of energy work and an intuitive. I read energy and consult on spiritual matters, so it is with great reservation that I give accolades such as this. But I knew when I met Dr. Snyder two years ago that he offered incredible results, and he did not disappoint. I am now 24-hours post surgery for having this mass removed. Although I have a high tolerance for pain, the scar tissue was adhered (glued) to my pectoralis muscle, a very close carve deep into my fascial layers near the ribs, so it is sore. The doctor chose to re-open an already made incision on my breast to get to it, but I am resting comfortably. Due to my request for very little anesthesia, I have been back to work at my desk since yesterday afternoon and know I'll have very little down time before getting back into practice. The staff at Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery have worked there for 10 and 20 years, which speak to the level of employee retention and relations the company practices. This kind of longevity is a very good indicator as to how true success is measured in the big picture of company operations and service. Another high note are the employees my age (I am in my late 50's), with youthful, dewy skin, who have employee benefits which include getting the fabulous, age-reversing services offered there. A I use the word, "fabulous" because these protocols obviously work. The gals who work at PVPS all look so lovely, I thought I might have walked onto the set of the movie, "The Stepford Wives!" Finally, the convenience of a state-of-the-art, on-site surgical center makes this a clear choice when deciding where to go for renewing and revitalizing our bodies. It was so much more convenient than going to an independent outpatient center or in my case with the first surgery, a hospital. About renewal and revitalization. Revitalizing comes from the inner depths of our desire to feel a bit of a bounce in our step again. It is my opinion, even as a spiritualist, that the renewing part of this process may very well need to come first. I say this because, albeit superficial, it is what we see when we look in the mirror which triggers a part of our sense of self-image and hence self-confidence, thus guiding us to feel a certain way about ourselves. We are all wired differently, but for me and the majority of others, it is a truth we contend and indulge ourselves in. Beth Hurewitz Holistic Practitioner St. Augustine, FL More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 25, 2014

Dr Rumsey is very professional and very professional. He does great reconstructive work. He's honest about procedures that aren't needed. The staff are all kind, professional and empathetic. They offer skin products, as well as all plastic surgery and reconstructive surgery needs. I never feel like they try to "sell" me on products. I've gone in twice and Dr Rumsey told me straight out ,"No," because he thought I'd be disappointed with results. What an honest doctor. I highly recommend him and his practice to anyone in need of a plastic surgeon! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4433260
Review from T.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 19, 2014

Wonderful experience with TruYou! I had breast reconstruction in 2011 and love Dr. Sternberg! Everyone in this office is friendly and helpful! I recommend them to anyone I know who needs this specialty. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from F.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 23, 2013

Dr. Hickman...What a Fantastic Doctor and Her Wonderful Support Staff - Jacksonville, FL - I was diagnosed with Stage III Breast Cancer ER+/HER2+, after undergoing chemo & drug treatment, I had a double mastecomy with reconstructive surgery. While making the decision for the reconstructive surgery Dr Hickman was very aware of how hard it was going through the breast cancer trip. You walk into her office and immediately can tell that her and her staff like what they do and they make you feel like family. I was so comfortable with her and her staff. She did a fantastic job at reconstructing my breast and nipples. She was the bright shining light at the end of the dark scary 'breast cancer' tunnel. My family and I found her the most approachable caring doctor we have ever met...and believe me I have met more doctors than I ever thought I would. I will be forever thankful to her for dedication to my feeling 'whole' again. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 28, 2012

I Had to Reconstruct the Reconstruction - Ponte Vedra Beach, FL - I did research the second time around, believe me! He was highly recommended and specializes in breast reconstruction. He also did a tummy tuck at the time of this reconstruction. I am thrilled with the results of both procedures! - - I was diagnosed with LCIS in my right breast in 2006. I was also told that within 10 years, I would have it on the left side as well. Bilateral mastectomies were a no brainer for me. I was 44 years old. I had bilateral mastectomies with immediate placement of tissue expanders. I considered foregoing reconstruction but the first time I put real clothes on, I missed my breasts. I want to say that I had a terrible experience with my first reconstruction which is a story in and of itself. The surgeon was less than qualified but was recommended by my oncologist. In short, I lived with hard, painful, deformed breasts for six years, not being able to look at myself in the mirror.In Feb. of 2012, I sought out another surgeon's opinion, not really believing there was any help for me. I can only imagine what went through the doctors mind when he saw me. He told me we could definitely improve things but was careful not to over promise. I am now 8 days post op of my second reconstruction for breast cancer and I am astounded at the immediate difference! I have soft, full, round breasts that fit my body instead of hard mounds of flesh sitting on my chest. I feel whole again. I want to clarify that my self esteem is not completely wrapped up in my outward appearance but it is much deeper than that. The message I want to convey is that I know how difficult not only a cancer diaganosis is for you and your family, but the daunting idea of reconstruction can be overwhelming. Even having had to go through it twice, I can now say it was worth it. Do not give up! If you are not happy with your result, do not simply decide there is nothing you can do. It took me six years to feel up to going through it again, but I am so glad I did! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4362909
Review from A.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Aug 27, 2012

I am one week post op for a tt and reconstruction for breast cancer and bilateral mastectomies. The first surgeon I had (in another state) did a disastrous job on my reconstruction and after living with it moreI am one week post op for a tt and reconstruction for breast cancer and bilateral mastectomies. The first surgeon I had (in another state) did a disastrous job on my reconstruction and after living with it for several years, I sought out Dr. Snyder for a consultation to see if there was anything that could be done. I could not be happier with the immediate result! It is astounding to me, considering what he had to work with, that Dr. Snyder was able to restore my breasts to this degree, along with my self esteem. He is professional and excellent at what he has been trained to do. His facilities and staff are excellent. I spent the night and the nurses were wonderful. I am looking forward to watching the rest of my transformation as my tt and reconstruction heal. Thank you! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4095931
Review from C.(.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 28, 2010

I am in my early 40's, BRACA positive, and have been living under the dark cloud of my fate since 2003. Every 3 mos I have been alternating the Diagnostic Mammogram, than the Bilateral MRI. I have been fortunate to of had my Breast Cancer caught very early in 2003 and have had 3 lumpectomies since. In May of 2010, 3 of my Doctors strongly suggested I have a Bilateral Mastectomy. I have had an ongoing issue in my right breast for the past 11 mos. and my emotions along with my Doctors care and concerns were nearing the end. My fate ran out and here I was in a daze having to choose a Plastic Surgeon to assist my surgeon during my proceedure. I was given a sheet a paper with a few Plastic Surgeons listed and was told to choose so we could proceed forward.I was still in shock, numb and felt like a walking zombie. I was definately not in any mental shape to make such an important decision. With the list in hand, and some referrals from friends, I set up 3 appointments with 3 Plastic Surgeons in the hopes that I would "just know" when I met the right one. Dr. Sternberg was my 1st appointment. Due to my Surgeons recommendations and another good feeling I had prior to meeting him, I felt he would be the perfect one to start off with.I just wanted to tell a little of my story so you can truly understand what I am about to disclose.I made my appointment with such a "Professional and Caring" member of his team. Ok, now onto the appointment. I arrived at Dr. Sternberg's office and what a More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4095863
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 25, 2009

In January, 2009, I was diagnosed with breast cancer; after making the decision to have a bilateral mastectomy, I needed to find a plastic surgeon for the breast reconstruction phase of this journey. I was given three recommendations to plastic surgeons; after doing some research, I crossed my fingers and chose Dr. Brett Snyder of Ponte Vedra, FL. From the first appointment (where we had SO many questions)to present day (I'm almost done!), Dr. Snyder and his staff have been extremely patient and kind, generous with their time, understanding and supportive. The first couple of weeks after the mastectomy/tissue expander implant surgery were "rough" - not knowing whether the physical aches/pains I was experiencing were "normal" coupled with a desire to NOT depend upon the pain meds sent my already over-extended emotions out of control. I contacted Dr. Snyder's answering service over a weekend; he called back right away and assured me that what I was feeling was normal and that I really WAS okay. Another time, I panicked and convinced myself I was retaining fluid around the tissue expanders; Dr. Snyder's staff went out of their way to get me into the office immediately to be checked. Of course, there was nothing PHYSICALLY wrong with me and although I was really embarassed for making such a big deal out of nothing, Dr. Snyder assured me that he'd "rather be safe than sorry" and everyone was very understanding. In my experience, the tissue expansion was the most physically difficult part of my breast cancer experience. However, I didn't go through it alone - Dr. Snyder and his staff were with me every week, empathetic to the discomfort I was experiencing while continually encouraging me toward the end-goal that would help me to STOP feeling like a cancer patient, raise my self-image and begin to see myself as a whole woman again. We were told that my "support team" would be vital to my recovery - I was truly one of the "lucky ones" when Dr. Snyder and staff became part of that support team. More

Patient Story
Review from J.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 22, 2016

Dear Nancy, Just want to "thank you" for all the special things you have done for me over the years. I really appreciate you. You are such a kind, caring, loving person. Thank you so much for being a special part of my breast cancer journies. I am so grateful and thankful. Love ya, J. More

Patient Story
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 20, 2015

The Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery group was outstanding. I always felt comfortable when checking in for appointments. The reception staff was so friendly. The check-out staff was also courteous and helpful. Nurse Robin was a total professional. She was thorough and structured, yet she made me feel like she was there with me and that I could call her anytime if I had questions or concerns. I knew that she would be with me in the operating room and that made me feel comfortable. Dr. Sternberg is just the best. His attention to detail was second to none. His examination was done in such a manner that I knew he was covering all the bases. I could tell that he really wanted to make the outcome of the surgery a success. He wasn't in a hurry and his dialogue was such that I could understand what he was saying. He did not talk down to me. Dr. Sternberg is also very honest. The surgery I had involved my breasts; however, I had also wanted to have surgery on my upper arms to reduce and tighten the skin. I had a right breast Maestectomy over ten years ago and as a result I have Lymphodena (some swelling) in my right arm. Dr. Sternberg examined me and he was upfront in advising me that the benefits did not outweigh the risks. He told me that while I would be a good candidate under normal conditions it was his professional opinion that more harm could be caused by this procedure. I know that he would have done this procedure if he thought it would benefit me, but I appreciated his honesty in advising me that he would not do this procedure. When I had questions and concerns relative to my insurance ,Michelle, who deals with insurance companies all day, was most helpful. She returned my calls in a timely manner and she spoke with the insurance company concerning my procedure. I would like to say that all of the nurses at the surgery center were great. I really liked Dr. Aurello my Anesthisiologist. She was so caring and most knowledgeable. The receptionist at the surgery center could not have been more pleasant and patient. Lastly, I would like to say that Jess, who talked with me about the financial aspects of my procedure, was absolutely wonderful. She was patient in answering my questions and I never felt pressured, at any time to make a decision. She was there to help me through the process and she totally succeeded. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Sternerg and the Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery group to anyone!!! More

Patient Story
Review from J.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 03, 2015

Julie, I was writing you in reference to your post awhile ago about shopping PVPS before you started there. I wanted to let you know about my experience and the positiveness I have seen. I became a patient of Dr. Hickman's as her practice was merging with PVPS. I have seen the difference full circle. The front desk staff doesn't have to worry about the phones while helping a patient, I like the convenience of confirming my appointment via text. I recently had my 5th (and hopefully last) surgery 4 weeks ago. I joked with the nurses and said is it bad I recognize you have new gowns back here? We got a laugh out of that. The surgical nurses always make you feel at ease when you go in and that makes it very comforting. You have a phenomenal staff both at Baymeadows & Ponte Vedra. I have seen 3 other dr's for an emergency when Dr. Hickman was not available and you would of never known I wasn't their patient. As a patient that is very comforting. God was looking out for me when I was referred to Dr. Hickman after being diagnosed with breast cancer. Through all my tears her bedside manner is impeccable, I am beyond blessed to have her as my dr. You guys deserve 10 stars for the professionalism, patient care and outstanding staff full circle. Full credit should be given to you for what you have done, and as a patient I wanted to let you know I noticed the changes and am sure many others have as well. More

Patient Story
Review from J.Q.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Oct 29, 2015

Due to the need for multiple breast biopsies in the 1970's, I had non-cancer reconstructive surgery performed in 1980 in Texas. Over the past five years I began noticing increasing discomfort from breast encapsulation, and my primary care physician and OB/GYN both recommended that I see a reconstructive plastic surgeon to see what could be done. Since my original plastic surgeon had retired, and the availability of qualified surgeons in my current area was limited, I traveled to Jacksonville to seeDr. Sternberg. I had been very pleased with my original results ... and the fact that my implants had "lasted" for 35 years ... but I couldn't be happier with my "new" results and the professionalism and care I received from the entire staff at Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery!! Dr. Sternberg is extremely capable, and he was thorough and honest in his explanations on what my surgery would entail. He has a great bedside manner, and I would recommend him unequivocally to anyone who is considering breast surgery of any kind, elective or otherwise. You won't be disappointed. More

Patient Story
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Sep 02, 2015

I HAVE BEEN A PATIENT OF DR. BURK'S FOR 18 YEARS. I AM SO THANKFUL AND GRATEFUL TO DR. BURK AND HIS STAFF FOR THE EXCELLENT CARE I HAVE ALWAYS RECEIVED AT THE PONTE VEDRA BEACH AND SOUTHSIDE LOCATIONS. THE ENTIRE STAFF, FROM THE RECEPTIONIST, SECRETARIES, NURSES, SURGICAL TECHS, MANAGERS, CARE COORDINATORS, THE INSURANCE/BILLING DEPT. STAFF, SKIN CARE SPECIALISTS, ANESTHESIOLOGIST, DOCTORS, ETC; HAVE TREATED ME WITH THE BEST OF CARE. ALL OF YOU HAVE BEEN A TRUE GOD SEND TO ME ESPECIALLY DURING MY ON GOING JOURNEY OF BREAST CANCER. I WOULD BE AT A TOTAL LOST WITHOUT YOU. THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH. More

Patient Story
Review from B.H.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 19, 2015

I first contacted Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery in 2013 when I was seriously considering a total breast reconstruction post lumpectemy 2004. I had two different sized breasts and had experienced an extreme weight gain and weight loss since that time due to quitting smoking. That, and not being a "spring chicken" any longer, and my breasts looked pretty un-pretty. I visited with Dr. Brett Snyder in St. Augustine, at a satellite facility used only for meeting new patients. My consultation was 5-star. I knew immediately I had found a top shelf surgeon who has impeccable bedside manners and world class training, with the ability to do the surgery needed to 1) make my breasts equal in size by reducing the unaffected side with the side that had been biopsied and irradiated, 2) perform the surgery in such a way as to minimalize scarring, and 3) provide further reduction to both breasts to eliminate any other anomalies with regard to shape and lift. Who could ask for more! I had just moved from Los Angeles and it was not possible to use my California insurance, so unfortunately I was not able to utilize their services. I went on with my plan and had another local surgeon do the surgery. Although I have a great deal of scarring from the surgeon that I eventually chose, I am very happy to be of equal size and to be "reconstructed" after many "lopsided" years. Almost immediately after the surgery I developed a great deal of scar tissue on the irradiated breast, and for nearly two years have been uncomfortable with this mass when I wear tight workout gear, so I began thinking about Dr. Snyder again. I went to see him again, this time at his main offices in Ponte Vedra, and was quite impressed with a beautiful, inviting center...spacious with a calming, well-appointed color scheme and furnishings. I have no doubt that my care is being handled by the best plastic surgeon and best plastic physician center in northern Florida. As I say this, please consider that I am a holistic practitioner, a 25-year veteran of energy work and an intuitive. I read energy and consult on spiritual matters, so it is with great reservation that I give accolades such as this. But I knew when I met Dr. Snyder two years ago that he offered incredible results, and he did not disappoint. I am now 24-hours post surgery for having this mass removed. Although I have a high tolerance for pain, the scar tissue was adhered (glued) to my pectoralis muscle, a very close carve deep into my fascial layers near the ribs, so it is sore. The doctor chose to re-open an already made incision on my breast to get to it, but I am resting comfortably. Due to my request for very little anesthesia, I have been back to work at my desk since yesterday afternoon and know I'll have very little down time before getting back into practice. The staff at Ponte Vedra Plastic Surgery have worked there for 10 and 20 years, which speak to the level of employee retention and relations the company practices. This kind of longevity is a very good indicator as to how true success is measured in the big picture of company operations and service. Another high note are the employees my age (I am in my late 50's), with youthful, dewy skin, who have employee benefits which include getting the fabulous, age-reversing services offered there. A I use the word, "fabulous" because these protocols obviously work. The gals who work at PVPS all look so lovely, I thought I might have walked onto the set of the movie, "The Stepford Wives!" Finally, the convenience of a state-of-the-art, on-site surgical center makes this a clear choice when deciding where to go for renewing and revitalizing our bodies. It was so much more convenient than going to an independent outpatient center or in my case with the first surgery, a hospital. About renewal and revitalization. Granted, revitalizing comes from the inner depths of our desire to feel a bit of a bounce in our step again. It is my opinion, even as a spiritualist, that the renewing part of this process may very well need to come first. I say this because, albeit superficial, it is what we see when we look in the mirror which triggers a part of our sense of self-image and hence self-confidence, thus guiding us to feel a certain way about ourselves. We are all wired differently, but for me and the majority of others, it is a truth we contend and indulge ourselves More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.